DIY Statement Wall Art


IMG_5733
Cover

In two days and with $50 cash, I made this statement wall art.

Materials

  • Large canvas. I bought this 46.5″ x 46.5″ canvas at Ikea for $40. Had I been more patient, I would have waited to find one for $5 at Goodwill.
  • Elastomeric Spackle paste. Elastomeric is flexible and won’t crack. I bought 1-quart for $7 at Home Depot.
  • Two paint colors. I found mine in the “rejects” pile at Home Depot. I got a quart of the tan base for $2 and the gray center color for $0.50.
  • Bristle paint brushes, like this one.
  • Putty knife
  • Piece of cardboard, I used the side of a box which was about 12″ x 6″.
  • Scissors

Steps

  1. Cut zig zag patterns in the piece of cardboard. This is what you’ll use to make the pattern on your canvas. My Pinsperation for the project came from the blog, Bower Power Blog. She used a trowel to make clean lines. You could cut cardboard to that shape for a similar effect.
    IMG_5627
  2. Using the putty knife, spread the spackle on the canvas, to coat it approximately 1/4″ thick..
    IMG_5628IMG_5631IMG_5632IMG_5634
  3. Once the canvas is covered, scrape the cut cardboard across the surface to make grooves.
    IMG_5633
  4. Once you make the texture, let the spackle dry. I live in an arid climate, set it in the sun, and left it be for a full 24-hours. You definitely don’t want to try to work with wet spackle.
  5. Paint the entire canvas with your base color. Make sure to paint the edges of the canvas! I really globbed it on to make sure I got paint in all the cracks.
  6. Let the base coat dry for at least an hour. Then, paint the center stripe with the contrasting color. Once it’s dry, you’re done! I hung mine above my bed using wall anchors and screws. Now I think I need to update my bedding. 🙂

IMG_5733

IMG_5734

IMG_5728

IMG_5727

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

